This is the "Home" page of the "Going Mobile With Ebsco" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
      Journals & Databases    •    Hours    •    FAQs    •    Contact Us

Going Mobile With Ebsco   Tags: apps, database tutorials, going mobile  

How to use Ebsco databases on your mobile device (iPad, iPhone, etc)
Last Updated: Aug 11, 2014 URL: http://libguides.fhu.edu/mobile-ebsco Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Going Mobile

What can you do on your iPad through the FHU Library?
 

What is Ebsco?

Ebsco is a provider of research databases. The FHU Library has around eight Ebsco databases, giving you access to thousands of fulltext articles from scholarly journals.
 

What does the app work on?

iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad running iOS 3.0 or later or Android 2.1 and up.

You can also always use Ebsco databases on the web too.
 

About the Ebsco App

We have several fulltext databases through Ebsco, notably in Religion (ATLA), Education (Education Source), and Health/Nursing (CINAHL). Now all these databases and more are available through an app on your mobile device.
Pros:
• It's easy to search for scholarly, fulltext journal articles straight from the app
• You can save articles directly on your device for offline access later.
• You can also save pdfs to other apps, like Dropbox or iBooks, or you can email them to yourself.
Cons:
• Even though Ebsco has thousands of eBooks, those aren't available through the app yet. But they still show up in the results as if they're available, which is confusing. If you want to use eBooks on a mobile device, try the Ebrary app instead. If you want to weed out those eBooks from your results, you can go to Settings and remove the eBook collection from those you're searching.
 

How to set up the Ebsco App

There are two main stages to setting up the app:
1) Get the Ebsco app 2) Authenticate the app
• Go to any Ebsco database on a browser, such as Education Source
• If you're off campus, you'll have to enter your FHU credentials.
• Click the EBSCOhost iPhone and Android Applications link at the bottom of the page.
• Enter your email address and you'll get an email with an authentication key.
• On your mobile device, click the link in the email to authenticate.

Librarian Profile

Profile Image
John Wilson
Contact Info
jwilson@fhu.edu
731-989-6373
Loden-Daniel Library
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip